Courses In UK

There are three basic levels of study at universities in the UK :

Foundation Courses

Foundation courses give you an introduction to a subject to increase your eligibility for an undergraduate degree. Foundation courses usually last one year but can also be studied intensively for six months.

Undergraduate Courses

Degree level. Undergraduate courses usually last for three years but can be four years long. Degrees for architecture, medicine, dentistry and veterinary sciences require five to seven years of study.

A UK Degree is equivalent to a Bachelor's in the USA. Types of degrees include: BA (Bachelor of Arts), BSc (Bachelor of Science), BEd (Bachelor of Education), BEng (Bachelor of Engineering), LLB (Bachelor of Law), MS or BS (Bachelor of Medicine).

Postgraduate Courses

To study a postgraduate course, you are usually required to have completed an undergraduate degree.

Postgraduate courses are split into "taught" or "research" courses :

  • Taught courses result in the award of Diplomas, Certificates and Master's degrees (MSc, MA, MBA, LLM, MDS)
  • Research courses result in the award of some Master's Degrees (MRes, MPhil) and Doctorates (PhD)

request a callback

Success Stories